First convention of 2015

Lucca helmet

Over the weekend a friend and I went to a convention, Star City Anime.  I went dressed as Lucca (Chrono Trigger) and my friend went as a Battle Royale participant.  This was my fourth convention and her 1st, though I’d never been to an anime convention.  The previous three were either gaming conventions or a comics and gaming convention.  We were very excited about this convention because our favorite voice actor, Vic Mignogna, was the guest of honor.  As a long-time fan of his work, I was thrilled to meet him in person and get a photo with him.

 

This was probably the smallest of the four conventions I’ve been to, with two hosting over 1,000 people and the other a meager 650.  This one clocked in at around 400-500 people since it was the first year.  The advantage of smaller conventions is that it’s easier to meet guests and there are smaller crowds.  The catch is that there isn’t a lot to do.  We got there right as they opened and saw everything within the first hour.  We ended up going to the board game room and video game room for the two hours prior to Vic’s four panels before grabbing lunch.  The first two panels were episodes of Star Trek continues, which he personally directed and did phenomenal with.  I thought they were on par with the best of Star Trek: TOS episodes personally.

Star Trek Continues {with anime voice actors, no less!} Vic Mignogna and Todd Haberkorn Watch it here

After the two episodes there was a Q&A in which Vic answered fan questions and requests.  It was phenomenal hearing him speak and at one point he pointed to me in the sea of people and asked me a question. I lost my words almost, but managed to answer!  Meeting idols can be surreal?  After the Q&A I got to meet him in person and got a photo op.  I wanted to talk to him about his experience at Liberty University (having gone to a Christian college myself), but a line of people behind me cancelled that idea.

 

All in all it was a great convention thanks to Vic.  I met a few people there and I was happy to see a number of people much older than us (25) there.  One thing that I worry about as I get older is that my ‘geeky’ interests will be frowned upon.  Then I remind myself I get mistaken for someone half my age and that other geeks are aging too.  I don’t think I need to worry about that for a long time, if ever.  As of now there aren’t any conventions on my radar until June.  I’m planning on going to Too Many Games in Pennsylvania then (for my first overnight con too!)

Leave a Reply

