The Cost of Relocating

Snow(We got another snowstorm!)

In a short eight days I’ll be loading up my dads trailer and making the journey back to my hometown.  It doesn’t seem real as I glance at the boxes in my living room and sit contemplating what else I can go ahead and pack up.  I have a running to do list open on my computer and no fewer than three lists going of what needs to be done and the plans I’ve set with friends in the area.  Earlier I met a mentor & friend for coffee and she gave me advice on where my journey is leading me.  For the first time in years I feel excited about the future and everything coming.

shelf

(another day, another empty shelf)

Despite the excitement I feel right now, I’m stressed out to the point of suffering physical symptoms.  Between filling out new hire paperwork, cancelling services and scheduling appointments, I feel a little worse for wear.  I’ve never been someone who handles stress well and I dislike how I respond to stress.  Yes, it is a lot, but I think the financial implication is what bugs me the most.  You see, I’m having to pay out money to get services done that I won’t get reimbursed for until next month.  When you’re in the education field or working with children, you have to fill out extra paperwork to prove you’re a good person.  It amounts to money on your account until you get reimbursed later on.  Total cost for all the paperwork I fill out so far?  $60.  It’s not a lot, but combined with the moving cost, it’s something!  I won’t say the full amount, but let’s just say despite having a nice amount saved up, releasing fees, cleaning companies and the likes has punched my checking account in the face.

.

Despite the initial cost, there are so many advantages to my move;

1) More job opportunities, promotions, more money

2) Being close to family instead of 2+ hours away

3) Being close to friends I typically only see 3X a year

4) ‘ll be near the university I want to get my Masters through

5)  I’ll be living in the area I want to settle in permanently

6)  I won’t be paying utilities or rent for at least 2 months, meaning more money to pay off my student loans and having money.  Wait, I have money to buy a book??

Have you ever relocated for a job?  Family?  More opportunities?

2 thoughts on “The Cost of Relocating

  1. I moved across Ontario for a job when I graduated. To be fair, I was moving BACK to the region I grew up in, but none of my immediate family is here anymore. I do have relatives and friends from high school, but there was a definite distance between me and them, considering I left for 10 years.
    The job opportunities here suck, but it’s a more affordable city overall, so for me, there are pros and cons. It sounds like you’re doing what’s right for you at this point in your life. Best of luck! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! There are pros and cons and affordability versus the job market are huge factors to consider. I’m moving to a city with a high cost of living, but there are plenty of job opportunities.

      Like

Leave a Reply

